What I’m Reading

FLOW

by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi

I read about 95% fiction, but my husband thought I might be interested in reading Flow for the psychology involved. (I do like a good why-do-our-brains-act-like-that book, as long as it’s in real people language.)

According to Csikszentmihalyi, flow is “the state in which people are so involved in an activity that nothing else seems to matter; the experience is itself so enjoyable that people will do it even at great cost, for the sheer sake of doing it.”

For me, this is writing. When I’m writing, I’m completely within myself. I’m unaware of time or anything around me. I’ll sacrifice to make time to write, too. I leave work a little bit early, pick up the kids a little bit late. No naps on the weekends anymore… that’s prime writing time. It’s flow.

I got a massage tonight, and I was thinking about flow, curious to see if I would float into that lack of personal thought. Unfortunately, I couldn’t put my thoughts aside; I kept wondering whether I was experiencing flow! Ah, well.

Last thought: how did this guy ever learn how to spell his own last name when he was a kid?

One response to “What I’m Reading

  1. I love Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi! I borrowed heavily from him for my senior thesis, entitled “Money, Happiness, and the Importance of Motivation,” which really applies to writers (and teachers) – we do it because we love it, not because we’re getting paid for it.

    I met a guy at a psychology conference once who knew this guy, and he says his name is pronounced “Me-high Chicks-send-me-high.” Personally, if I were him, I would’ve just signed everything “Mihaly C.”

Leave a Reply

