What I’m Reading

Right now, I’m reading Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen.

I’ve heard so many great things about Sarah Dessen, especially on Twitter and on YA writing blogs. Writers and teens say things like: “My favorite books are anything Sarah Dessen has written.” So, in the spirit of my New Year’s Resolution and plain ol’ common sense, I looked around for her books at the library.

The first one I found was What Happened to Goodbye, about a girl named Mclean who moved around constantly with her father, changing her personality at each school. The big moment was her reunion with her mother and her realization that she wanted to actually stay put somewhere. I enjoyed it and all, but I couldn’t see what the fuss was about Sarah Dessen.

Then I checked out Lock and Key, on audiobook. There were a bunch of Dessen’s books in the audiobook section, but I chose the one that seemed like it had the most troubled main character.

(For those of you who read my writing, you know that I NEVER write about disturbed female characters. Never ever ever ever.)

Anyway, this book is awesome. Ruby’s mom has run away from the home they shared together, and Ruby is on her own, trying to make do without help from anyone until she turns 18. Social Services discovers her situation and she is sent to live with her older sister Cora and her rich husband Jamie. Ruby won’t get close to anyone and trusts no one. Her challenge is to come to terms with her sister and her mother and ultimately herself.

I think. I haven’t actually finished it.

But I’m beginning to see why people like Sarah Dessen so much. I’m into the story. And can I just say, I love hearing the story in the car. The narrator sounds just right as Ruby.

So now the question is: will I begin a love affair with Sarah Dessen? Will she sweep me off my feet and woo me with her other books?

I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

