Hearing Voices: Part 2

February 8th – Wednesday – Dialogue Introduction:  Have two characters introduce each other using only dialogue—no backstory, no internalization, just dialogue between the two. Max 250 words.

“Ms. Bryant?”

“Ah, Mrs. Holden. Thanks for coming. Have a seat. Please, call me Melissa. May I call you Ellen?”

“I suppose. You’re the school counselor?”

“Yes, that’s right. I–”

“What’s this about? I don’t know why we couldn’t have this conversation over the phone. It’s a two hour ride down from Lexington, you know. And this is quite a busy week for me.”

“We need to talk about Alexis.”

“Is she in trouble?”

“Of course not, Ellen–”

“Her grades. Did they slip?”

“No, not at all. We need to–”

“Wait. What kind of counselor are you?”

“I’m an LICSW, a licensed social worker. Like a therapist. I’ve worked here at Sullivan for ten years.”

“Is Alexis crazy? Is that what you’re telling me?”

“No, of course she’s not crazy. But she is having some… emotional problems.”

“What is it this time? Jesus Christ. All I ask is that she keeps her 4.0. And let me guess, she’s whining about that.”

“Alexis was brought to the Health Center by a friend, with cut marks all over her arms and legs. I’ve started weekly therapy with her.”

“So she’s hurting herself to get some attention. Well, I’m not going to give her any attention for this behavior.”

“It’s not a matter of getting attention. It’s– Ellen, where are you going? Ellen? Ellen?”

18 responses to “Hearing Voices: Part 2

  1. I am so getting to know your character Ellen from this blogfest. This makes me want to read your entire book for real! Wow!

  2. @Rena – yep, that’s what I want you to think!
    @Melodie – thanks. The stakes are pretty high here – the parents have to get involved if Alexis is going to stay at school.
    @Cortney – eventually… but it takes a long time!
    @Carol – I agree!
    @Kyra – Thank God she’s not my mom!
    @Angie – You HANDS DOWN made my day. 🙂

  3. I think the best thing about this piece is that they’re both talking about a character we don’t know, so we really don’t know the history about how the character started cutting herself. So sad, yet realistic the way it turned out. And well written.

Leave a Reply

