Hearing Voices: Emotion Flash Fiction

February 10th – Friday – Emotion Flash Fiction: Emotion is the engine of a story. Pick an emotion and in a flash fiction piece of 250 words MAKE us feel it! We want to connect with your character. This will be a challenge in 250 words.
ALEXIS
The thing about Brynn is, she’s perfect. She’s a soprano in choir–that’s where they first met–and her voice just floats in the air. She’s got that kind of curly hair that cascades or something–I don’t know what the right word is. Her clothes are so cute. I wouldn’t know how to find those clothes. I didn’t even know those clothes existed. She laughs and I can tell she’s so laid back. Like I said, perfect.
The thing about Ben is, he wants her instead of me. It’s easy to see why. She’s everything I’m not. When I see them holding hands–his large one covering her tiny one–I’m pierced inside, knowing that he used to hold my hand, but he doesn’t anymore. He says he doesn’t love me anymore. He says that things were wrong for a long time. Nobody told me that.
The thing about me is, I’m invisible. I’ll get my good grades and everyone will leave me alone, even Miranda and Kelly who think they’re my friends. I’ll make sure my mom’s satisfied and that Ms. Bryant thinks I’m getting better, and then I’ll hide inside myself. Inside myself no one can see the cuts and burns and no one can see me.
11 responses to “Hearing Voices: Emotion Flash Fiction

  1. I’ve been hoping to meet Alexis to feel everything I know she must be feeling just by reading your other entries. This was so amazing, really. I so want to pick up your book and read it!

  2. I really enjoyed how although you’re writing about a common situation, you have these unique way of talking about it. Like drawing attention to the size of the other girl’s hand in his. I felt like you had a lot of unique things to say here.

  3. @ Suzanne – I was being nosy & saw your note on someone else’s scratchpad!
    @ Jade – Thanks so much! Let me know if you want to read more!
    @ Ashley – High school is pretty awful, I agree! Let me know if you want to read more!
    @ Hope @ Hywela @ Jess -Thanks!

Leave a Reply

