What I’m Reading & Resolutions Update

Wow, I haven’t been on here in a while, except for blogfest posts!

Right now, I’m reading Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler, y’know, the Lemony Snicket guy. (We were actually in college at Wesleyan together, overlapping for one year. I think I might remember him a bit. Or maybe I’m just imagining that since he’s somewhat famous.) He’s the author of the Series of Unfortunate Events guy, all of which I listened to on audiobook.

Anyway, I picked it up without even looking at the blurb because I knew I’d like anything he wrote. Plus there’s the title. How could you not want to know why Min and Ed broke up?

What’s unusual about this book is that there are gorgeous paintings (by Maira Kalman). Each chapter starts with another object that explains their break-up, painted beautifully by Kalman on the story’s glossy pages.

I’m in the middle of the book right now, but I’m liking it. I just need to stop putting it down to play on Twitter. 🙂

AND… TOPIC NUMBER 2:  MY RESOLUTIONS!

At the beginning of the year, I vowed to read 50 YA books during 2012. Well, it’s about 8 weeks in, so, to hold myself accountable, here’s my progress:

YA books:

Why We Broke Up (Handler)

Smack (Melvin Burgess)

Ten Miles Past Normal (Frances O’Roark Dowell)

Lock and Key (Sarah Dessen)

The Thirteenth Little Blue Envelope (Maureen Johnson)

Hmmm. That’s actually not that impressive. 6 in 8 weeks. Will I make it?

I think part of my problem is that I spent quite a bit of time reading 1Q84 by Murakami, which was 900 pages! (Good thing my Kindle doesn’t give page numbers, or else I would’ve hesitated to read it!)

Ah well. Keep me honest, blogging world….  I’ll report back in March.

Leave a Reply

