Hello, my name is Lisa. And I read James Patterson.

Okay, okay, I admit it! I don’t always read YA and classics and Oprah book club-y books. Sometimes (okay, every time a new one comes out, which is, like, every week) I read (eek!) James Patterson. Do you still respect me?

I was thinking about this, and why it seems so embarrassing to admit I read him when I’m talking to other writer types. His prose isn’t great, and I want to take out my teacher’s pen and edit him (in a kind, teacherly way).

But here’s the thing. His books are compulsively readable. I started this one on Friday and finished it Saturday. 448 pages, but I couldn’t stop reading it.

I guess it’s like the literary equivalent of potato chips. You know they aren’t “real food,” but you can’t stop eating them once you start.

The premise of this one was that an evil madman (Cronus) and his three Furies target the Olympic Games in London. It’s a pretty cool premise, since the games are this summer in London, and security is always an issue. But the whole Cronus/ Furies angle – although connected to the Olympics through Greek mythology – was a little much to me, even though I was a Classics major in college. It was almost like he was trying too hard to make it all fit in.

ANYWAY, back to defending myself. His books are fast-paced, have lots of funky ways to die,  and I love the short chapters (easy to put down but also easy to pick up if you only have a minute).

MY NAME IS LISA AND I READ JAMES PATTERSON BOOKS.

HI, LISA.

One response to “Hello, my name is Lisa. And I read James Patterson.

Leave a Reply

