New Year’s Resolution update

At the beginning of the year, I pledged to read at least 100 books for 2012, and that at least 50 would be YA or MG. 100 books was no problem last year, but I think I only had 30 or so that weren’t adult.

So, since it’s almost halfway through the year, let’s see how I’m doing. You have to keep me honest, after all!

Overall stats:

33 books read. Not good. I really, truly think it’s because of Twitter. I’m following so many people (mostly agents and authors) that it takes me forever to catch up on it. And Scramble with Friends… I have an unspeakable addiction to you. Maybe I need to leave my phone downstairs and make bedtime sacred for reading only.

-16 YA/MG titles. The good thing here is that’s almost exactly half of my total reading. So that’s a better ratio than last year.

Man, I just realized what a total *nerd* I am. Never mind. Anyone who’s reading this probably is too. Or is a friend who has long accepted my nerdhood.

Best adult reads so far:

The Lone Wolf – Jodi Picoult

11/22/63 – Steven King

IQ84 – Hashuru Murakami

The Lover’s Dictionary – David Levithan

Best YA/MG reads so far:

Delirium – Lauren Oliver

Lock and Key – Sarah Dessen

Bitter End – Jennifer Brown

Freak the Mighty – Rodman Philbrick

DISCLAIMER: There may or may not have been multiple James Patterson and (shh!) E.L. James books on this list


Next on the TBR list:

The Future of Us – Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake – Aimee Bender

Calico Joe – John Grisham

7 responses to “New Year’s Resolution update

  1. I know what you mean about the whole time management thing – there are SO many distractions. I like your idea of making bedtime read-only. In my case, I’ll have to move the iPad out of the bedroom!
    Nerds FTW!

    • I took a nap this afternoon and (gasp!) didn’t bring up the phone. Instead I read about 50ish pages before I went to bed. Much more satisfying. And naps are also lovely!

  2. I’m a nerd, and proud of it. Okay, maybe not proud so much as not ashamed?

    Have you read anything by Sharon Creech? Someone gave me a copy of her Walk Two Moons, and I really liked it and plan to read more. I also love Alice Hoffman’s The Ice Queen (adult women’s fiction).

    I’ve found that unfortunately I’m reading too much, to the point that I’m not getting much writing or editing done. Although being currently unemployed gives me a lot of extra free time. 🙂

    • But at least you’re reading too much instead of watching TV too much, or going out too much, or that kind of thing! (And I think you’re being very productive – you have a lot posted on Scrib!)
      I haven’t read either of those books… I’ll take a look!

  3. Ooh, I haven’t read the Lone Wolf yet. I love Picoult – The Pact is my favorite, followed closely by Second Glance. Have you seen the YA she co-wrote with her daughter? It’s out now – definitely on my TBR.

    • Yeah, I think it comes out today! I definitely want to read it. I have an author-crush on Jodi Picoult. When I met her at a signing, she complimented my necklace. Complimented my necklace! I about died. (And wore the necklace a lot more after that.)

Leave a Reply

