What I’m Reading

Oh.

Just oh.

I’m (finally! What’s wrong with me?) reading my first John Green YA. I was staring at his books at Barnes and Noble yesterday, and knew that I needed to buy one. I can never find any of his books at the library (probably because they’re always checked out).

I knew The Fault in Our Stars is the book everyone’s talking about. But as I scanned, I kept coming back to An Abundance of Katherines.

First of all, how can you beat the title? Talk about original–you won’t see that title anywhere else. And so lyrical…. An Abundance of Katherines. An Abundance of Katherines. First, the word abundance–so much better than “a lot of” or anything like that. More specific, more elegant. And the Katherines. Immediately poses the question: why Katherines, plural?

So I’m about halfway through (started it last night). The first thing I love (other than the title) is how specific–careful?–John Green’s language is. For example, about Colin, the main character: “‘I want to have a Eureka moment,'” he said, the way another kid might have expressed longing for a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle.” There, in that once sentence, is Colin’s character.

Then there’s the footnotes, semi-scholarly, just the right tone for “child prodigy” Colin. And not only is it interesting that Colin creates diagrams and theorems to try to explain how relationships work and end, but we get to see them, illustrated there in the footnotes. There’s even a footnote on the cover.

And finally, there are the Katherines. I haven’t gotten too much information about them except for Katherine I and Katherine XIX (who most recently broke his heart). But what a hook! You have to keep reading. Why were there 19 Katherines??

Enough gushing.

If you’ve read John Green, which one is your favorite? Which one should I read next?

3 responses to “What I’m Reading

  1. I loved Looking for Alaska. I was not thrilled with Paper Towns, but it was intriguing in some ways. It’s been a while for those, so specifics fail me.

  2. i have read everything john green has written with the exception of some short stories and this is one of my favorites as well. the best fried character kills me! welcome to the world of john green. 🙂

Leave a Reply

