GUTGAA Meet and Greet

As part of the month long “Gearing up to get an Agent” project at Deana Barnhart’s blog, the participants are doing a meet and greet with some interesting questions. Ready?

-Where do you write? About 99% of the time, at Starbucks. Every once in a while, a library or Barnes and Noble. Never, never at home.
-Quick. Go to your writing space, sit down and look to your left. What is the first thing you see? Well… I’m in my PJs at my mother-in-law’s, so… let me imagine it instead. To my left is the next table. Revealing answer, no?
-Favorite time to write? Late afternoons, either after work or on the weekend.
-Drink of choice while writing? Iced venti skinny vanilla latte with three Splendas
-When writing , do you listen to music or do you need complete silence? White noise of other conversations & background music. I have a hard time with silence, but I also can’t write very well with my own music on, because it distracts me. I would want to sing along!
-What was your inspiration for your latest manuscript and where did you find it? The inspiration for the book I’m writing now comes from my high school drama club and productions, and the intense admiration I had for so many adults when I was a teen.
-What’s your most valuable writing tip? Sorry this isn’t creative – just B.I.C. (butt in chair).
12 responses to “GUTGAA Meet and Greet

  1. I could never write in public. I talk to my computer and the characters like they are right there. My husband still quotes me as saying ‘I’m sorry I have to throw you out of a window now.” at 6 a.m.
    See you around GUTGAA

  2. I totally smiled at your line,”I write contemporary YA brimming with teen angst!” Well written, I love YA too. I just discovered the section thanks to my niece. I will look for your name someday for sure.

Leave a Reply

