2012 Reading List: Lisa Loves Statistics

2012 pic

So, I am looking back at my reading goals for 2012. I said I’d like to read 100 books (seemed attainable, since I read 104 last year) and that 50 or more would be MG/YA.

Well, I failed big time on the first: 77 books overall, according to Goodreads. I think I got sucked into Twitter a little too often.

I was really close to the second goal: 45 of the titles were MG/YA, which definitely helps me as a writer. Gotta read them to write them, right? Amazingly enough, I read more MG/YA than Adult this year! I think I’m aiming for 100 overall and 50 MG/YA again for next year.

You might want to stop reading right now unless you like lists, but here’s what I read this year, with a * in front of any book I rated five stars on Goodreads:

MG (6):

The Schwa was Here/ Neal Shusterman

*Out of My Mind/ Sharon Draper

Walk Two Moons/ Sharon Creech

Freak the Mighty/ Rodman Philbrick

The Penderwicks/ Jeanne Birdsall

Hoot/ Carl Hiaasen

YA (39):

When She Hollers/ Cynthia Voight

Tiger Eyes/ Judy Blume

Abandon/ Meg Cabot

Skinny/ Donna Cooner

*The Fault in our Stars/ John Green

*Between Shades of Gray/ Ruta Sepetys

*Between the Lines/ Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer

Purity/ Jackson Pearce

The Hunger Pains/ The Harvard Lampoon

Sweethearts/ Sara Zarr

Scars/ Cheryl Rainfield

Shine/ Lauren Myracle

Everybody Sees the Ants/ A.S. King

If I Lie/ Corrine Jackson

Cinder/ Marissa Meyer

Impossible/ Nancy Werlin

The Rules of Survival/ Nancy Werlin

This is Not a Test/ Courtney Summers

Second Helpings/ Megan McCafferty

My Brother’s Keeper/ Patricia McCormick

Tangled/ Carolyn Mackler

Bitter End/ Jennifer Brown

Hate List/ Jennifer Brown

Does My Head Look Big in This?/ Randa Abdel-Fattah

Smack/ Melvin Burgess

Delirium/ Lauren Oliver

The Liar Society/ Lisa and Laura Roecker

Devilish/ Maureen Johnson

Dreamland/ Sarah Dessen

Just Listen/ Sarah Dessen

How to Save a Life/ Sara Zarr

The Last Little Blue Envelope/ Maureen Johnson

Lock and Key/ Sarah Dessen

Why We Broke Up/ Daniel Handler

Will Grayson, Will Grayson/ John Green

Before I Fall/ Lauren Oliver

An Abundance of Katherines/ John Green

Uglies/ Scott Westerfeld

Daughter of Smoke and Bone/ Laini Taylor

ADULT (32):

Oliver Twist/ Charles Dickens

NW/ Zadie Smith

Saturday/ Ian McEwan

Bossypants/ Tina Fey

Zoo/James Patterson

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest/ Stieg Larsson

I, Michael Bennett/ James Patterson

In One Person/ John Irving

Love/ Toni Morrison

The Photograph/ Penelope Lively

Writing Great Books for Young Adults/ Regina Brooks

Summer Breeze/ Nancy Thayer

11th Hour/ James Patterson

Death Comes to Pemberley/ P.D. James

The Lost Years/ Mary Higgins Clark

Fifty Shades of Gray/ E.L. James

Fifty Shades Darker/ E.L. James

Fifty Shades Free/ E.L. James

Guilty Wives/ James Patterson

Lone Wolf/ Jodi Picoult

I’ve Got Your Number/ Sophie Kinsella

Private Games/ James Patterson

The Art of Fielding/ Chad Harbach

V is for Vengeance/ Janet Evanovich

Private/ James Patterson

Calico Joe/ John Grisham

The Lovers’ Dictionary/ David Levithan

The Litigators/ John Grisham

Cross Fire/ James Patterson

11/22/63/ Stephen King

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake/ Aimee Bender

Maine/ J. Courtney Sullivan

Whew! Did you set a dorky  awesome goal for how much you would read in 2012? How did you do?

3 responses to “2012 Reading List: Lisa Loves Statistics

  1. Well, I read 81 books. Although a few of them I had read before, so maybe that doesn’t count. Almost all of them were adult not YA. 100 books for next year!

  2. I set myself the goal of reading 100, and I made it to 80. I’m going to try for 100 again in 2013. I’ll also hopefully be working full-time and going to grad school part-time, while trying to write a ton as well, so I can pretty much guarantee I won’t hit 100 this year either.

Leave a Reply

