An Ode to Audiobooks

This is me on my 40-minute commute.

bored driver

(Because, you know, I would NEVER be doing this:

busy driver

That would be wrong. And probably illegal.)

This is me on audiobooks:

happy driver

Ah, audiobooks. On my commutes (=no kids with me), I get bored with the radio, especially in the mornings when they jabber on and on about stupid stuff. And because apparently I’m NOT supposed to text on my phone while I drive, I’ve turned to audiobooks to make the driving more entertaining. And now I’m in love.

The advantages of audiobooks in the car:

-I can read/listen to more and more and more books! And of course my TBR pile is to the moon and back.

-I get drawn into the world of the story and forget that I’m on my way to work or kids. I’m surprised when I get there – it went by so fast! And I don’t want to turn it off.

-I stay awake.

-Someone reads to me. Ah, childhood all over again. Pass the juice and the blankie.

The disadvantages:

-The selection: I’m stuck with whatever the library has. But I’ve been re-reading/ re-listening to old favorites, everything from old Jodi Picoults to Jane Austen.

-The fines: I can never get through the CDs in 2 weeks, and I never remember to renew anything. But my theory is that I’m making frequent donations to the library.

-The narrators: So inconsistent. They can be so amazing (Jay Asher’s 13 Reasons Why) or so off-putting (Jodi Picoult’s Picture Perfect). I’m listening to Picture Perfect right now, and the narrator’s doing absolutely nothing for me.  But since I like the story, I’m sticking with it.

SO: What do you think? Do you listen to audiobooks, or do you just stare into space when you drive? Do you have favorites?

6 responses to “An Ode to Audiobooks

  1. I don’t listen to audiobooks myself, but Jeff does every day. (He subscribes through Simply Audiobooks). He will quit listening if he doesn’t like the narrator. Some of his favorites are Jim Dale, Kate Reading & Michael Cramer, and Jennifer Ikeda.

  2. Jeff will show you the website when you’re here! It’s basically like old-school netflix. He also likes Simon Winchester’s books on audio.

  3. I’m not a huge fan of audiobooks in the car; I prefer loud music I can sing along with. But my reading list is never ending, so maybe I’ll start. If the woman next to me at my temp job can listen to the radio all day, I don’t see why I couldn’t listen to audiobooks.

  4. i know so many people who swear by audiobooks. if i traveled more i would probably use them, too…and i would also be making frequent donations to the library via hefty fines. i am terrible at renewing as well. at least it’s for a good cause. i have heard that a great narrator can really make the story. apparently the secret life of bees is a favorite.

Leave a Reply

