A Word I Like

MALEVOLENT

1. Having or exhibiting ill will; wishing harm to others; malicious.

2. Having an evil or harmful influence

(www.thefreedictionary.com/malevolent)

I like the way the word malevolent feels in my mouth and on my tongue. It rolls more than you’d think, and I want to repeat it over and over.

I also like what it means: not just bad or mean but wishing harm, and evil. Nothing wishy-washy about this word. No gray; black and white.

I never noticed that the word looks like it contains “male” and “violent” (although “volent” comes from the Latin meaning wishing). Although I associate malevolent with both genders, I can’t help thinking of Maleficent, the villain in Sleeping Beauty, since her name is so similar sounding, and she’s, well, malevolent.

Maleficent

A malevolent poem:

I do not like being alone on these nights,
I cannot sleep,
and I cannot fight
the constant battles
that dance with a malevolent
waltz around my mind.

Mmm. There’s that delicious sound again.

One response to “A Word I Like

Leave a Reply

