A Word I Like

 

ELISION

noun
  • the omission of a sound or syllable when speaking (as in I’m, let’s, een )
  • an omission of a passage in a book, speech, or film. “the movie’s elisions and distortions have been carefully thought out”
  • the process of joining together or merging things, especially abstract ideas. “unease at the elision of so many vital questions”  (source)

 

I like the smoothness of the word elision, and I hear it in my head as the French word elision (sounds much more melodic). Therefore, not like a boring English contraction like I’m, but French ones like quelqu’un or aujourd’hui, or elisions like j’aime.

 

“‘Tis some visitor,” I muttered, “tapping at my chapter door-

Only this and nothing more.”

      –Edgar Allan Poe

“Angels we have heard on high sweetly singing o’er the plains.”

      –Christmas Carol

“But with thy brawls thou hast disturb’d our sport.”

      –Shakespeare

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

